What’s Wrong with Screenwriting?

November 15, 2013 § Leave a comment

I recently read Writing Movies for Fun and Profit: How We Made a Billion Dollars at the Box Office and You Can, Too! by Thomas Lennon and Robert Ben Garant, a gift from my dad for my birthday last year (almost an entire year ago, shows how much time I’ve had). In it, the two give insider information about how to get into the screenwriting business and make money. But they do so through the humor they’re known for (Reno 911, Night at the Museum).

[Note: I’m not trying to promote the book, unless they want to cut me a deal; I just wanted to show off how cool and interesting I am that I read books and I’m learning about new things.]

Maybe I’m a little impressionable, but I’m thinking screenwriting would be a cool job. Not that this is a new thing. I’ve always been interested in making movies and whatnot. I had a friend up recently over the Halloween week, who graduated from UO last year and is now in L.A. working on movie sets trying to get his way into the business as a writer. It’d be pretty cool to partner up with him and write some scripts. I’m just saying, if you see a new movie come out in the next ten years from Collins and Perry, don’t say I didn’t warn you. Of course, writing for a TV show would be pretty sweet, too, probably an animated show because that’d be more fun.

I’m too busy to work on any scripts right now, but I’m thinking next term and spring term I’m going to actually try my pen at writing some. Again, just warning you.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading What’s Wrong with Screenwriting? at Picks of Mick's Ticks.

meta

